Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Doing an Interrail trip has been my dream since the first year of high school. Finally this summer, after graduation, I managed to convince my good friend G. to join me on this amazing journey (not to mention that I had won my ticket throught the Discover EU Challenge).

We decided we’d visit the capitals of the main Central Europe countries, we did our version of a Grand Tour, Europe-sized.

We left from our town Savona on August 12th, 2018. On that night we arrived in our first destination, Paris. I had already been there (if you wanna see when, read this), but this time was different. I was on my own, (except my friend, of course), no parents and no safety nets in case something went wrong. Luckily nothing did.

Paris was amazing, we absolutely loved it. We stayed at Generator Paris, a hostel north-east of the centre, near the Colonél Fabien metro station. The hostel was just great: good vibe, good prices and we were lucky enogh to find two other interrailers from the UK which were super fun to hang out with. 

Our next step was Amsterdam. We stayed in a christian hostel there (my friend booked it, and we both had no idea ahah), so we were a bit worried about curfews and such things but in the end we were fine. The city was just beautiful, I loved it. We also found some good places to eat and had fun visiting the I Amsterdam Sign and the A’Dam Lookout, which offers a great and unusual view of the city.

 

PRO TIP: bring a rope with you if you can, it can be useful in many situations, for example we used it to tie a clothing hanger between our beds in the dorms of all the hostels we visited.

By the way, if you are interested in knowing what I put in my bag for this trip, let me know in the comments and I’ll make a separate post!

Our third city of choice was the german capital, Berlin. We again stayed at Generator Hostel, in the borough of Prenzlauer Berg. Don’t bother trying it out, it was a shitty place to be in: rude staff, dirty bathrooms and bad vibes altogether. The only upside to it was the garden where we enjoyed a couple beers while our laundry was in the washing machine three stories up. We visited all the major sights: the TV Tower, the Bundestag and the Holocaust Monument. My favourite part though was the Berlin Wall: seeing it in real life was amazing.

Our last stop before heading home was Prague. It’s an amazing place, probably the most peculiar one. It looks like time didn’t change it. Walking through its cobbled streets you can feel the history behind coming through. It’s amazing. The Castle is probably the most famous site together with Charles’s Bridge, but also the Lovers’ Hill is worth a visit. It offers an amazing view of the city and it’s not that crowded. Oh, and don’t forget trying out the Sad Man’s Tongue Pub, it’s lit!